top of page

How did I find my style? / Jak odnalazłam swój styl?

Searching for your own style in drawing is a hard nut to crack. The talent itself is not enough, you also have to have something that sets you apart from others. There are lots of artists whose technique leaves a lot to be desired, but they make up for it with their originality and attract attention. I think it is particularly difficult to develop your style in the field of illustration or animated film. It's easy to model yourself after Disney or Anime movies, but that's not enough. I remember a situation two years ago, at the Open Day in Polish Film School in Lodz (when I was applying on animation course there), we were watching the work of one of the applicants on the projector. They were illustrations with different characters from Disney movies. They were beautiful drawings, you could see a huge talent, but these works met with considerable criticism. One of the lecturers sitting there bored said: "I have the impression that for 10 years, one and the same person has been sending their drawings under various surnames." Another boy brought only a thick sketchbook full of one manga comic book. It was evident that he put his heart into it - he in turn heard: "I have one piece of advice for you. Go home, put this sketchbook high on the shelf and forget it exists." Unfortunately we will meet with this opinion almost everywhere. Why would we draw something what is already there? You need to work on your INDIVIDUALITY.

So, I will tell you how it was with my searching for my own style. Namely, when I tried to prepare my "portfolio" for an interview for my current studies a year ago I felt that something is missing. Big charcoal portraits and refined pencil sketches made an impression but still it wasn't this. Colorful works weren't my strong point. paints were a no go, so I needed something different that would add some color to my portfolio. I thought then: "When I was little, I was creating such cool colorful drawings full of details, and what happened to them?" So I came up with the idea to reach out to my childhood years and try to draw exactly in the style I drew in a long long time ago. And that was it! I discovered what promarkers are and drawing again became a pleasure and relaxing for me, not a duty imposed on myself, which I sometimes felt but I didn't have the courage to admit it. I came up with the idea to create a sketchbook (I bought a beautiful sketchbook with a pink flower cover <3) where each sheet was supposed to be filled with an illustration, something like my diary. Each drawing was the fruit of a mixture of my emotions, thoughts and imagination. I had only one month until the interviews, so I drew literally 2-3 drawings EVERYDAY (I spent 1-3 hours on each). It was so important to me that I devoted every free moment of my free time of my small project, even some people worried about me that I didn't leave my home at all (except going to work). But I succeeded :) I filled the entire 70-page sketchbook. Although when I look at these drawings now, I see millions of imperfections, but it doesn't matter, there are so many of my emotions and ideas that it's nice to come back to this.

I also have a huge sentiment for it because in this sketchbook was awoken my original style, which today I am really proud of . I know I still have to work on this style but at least it's MINE and that's already half the success :)

fot. Patryk Dudzinski

I put some drawings from my sketchbook at the bottom of the page!

 

Poszukiwanie własnego stylu w rysunku to twardy orzech do zgryzienia. Sam talent nie wystarczy, trzeba mieć także coś, co odróżnia cię od innych. Jest przecież mnóstwo artystów, których technika pozostawia wiele do życzenia, ale świetnie nadrabiają to swoją oryginalnością i przykuwają uwagę. Uważam, że szczególnie ciężko jest wyrobić swój styl w dziedzinie ilustracji, czy filmu animowanego. Łatwo jest wzorować się na filmach Disneya, czy Anime, ale to nie wystarcza. Pamiętam taką sytuację, kiedy dwa lata temu na Dniach Otwartych w "Łódzkiej Filmówce" oglądaliśmy na rzutniku prace jednego z aplikantów. Były to ilustracje z udziałem różnych postaci z filmów Disneya. No po prostu prześliczne rysunki, widać było ogromny talent, ale prace te spotkały się ze sporą krytyką. Jeden z siedzących tam wykładowców znudzonym głosem skomentował: "Mam wrażenie, że od 10 lat jedna i ta sama osoba podsyła swoje rysunki pod różnymi nazwiskami". Inny chłopak przyniósł tylko gruby szkicownik cały wypełniony jednym komiksem w stylu manga. Widać było, że włożył w to swoje serce – on z kolei usłyszał: "Mam dla Ciebie jedną radę. Wróć do domu, połóż ten szkicownik wysoko na półce i w ogóle zapomnij, że istnieje. Spróbuj całkowicie zapomnieć o tym stylu." I niestety z taką opinią spotkamy się prawie wszędzie. Bo po co rysować coś, co już jest? Trzeba pracować nad swoją INDYWIDUALNOŚCIĄ.

Opowiem teraz, jak to było z moim poszukiwaniem własnego stylu. Mianowicie, kiedy rok temu próbowałam przygotować swoją "teczkę" na rozmowę kwalifikacyjną na moje obecne studia, czegoś mi w niej brakowało. Wielkie węglowe portrety i dopracowane szkice rysowane ołówkiem robiły wrażenie, ale ciągle to nie było to. Kolorowe prace nie były moją mocną stroną. Farby zdecydowanie odpadały, więc potrzebowałam czegoś innego, co doda barw mojemu portfolio. Pomyślałam wtedy: "Jak byłam mała, to przecież tworzyłam takie fajne kolorowe rysuneczki pełne detali, no i co się z nimi stało?" Więc wpadłam na pomysł, aby sięgnąć pamięcią do moich dziecięcych lat i spróbować rysować dokładnie w takim stylu, w jakim rysowałam dawno, dawno temu. I to było to! Odkryłam co to są promarkery i rysowanie znowu stało się dla mnie przyjemnością i relaksacją, a nie narzuconym przez siebie obowiązkiem, co czasem już odczuwałam, ale nie bardzo miałam odwagę się do tego przyznać. Wymyśliłam sobie, żeby stworzyć taki szkicownik (kupiłam specjalnie przepiękny brulion z twardą okładką w różowe kwiatki <3 :) ), gdzie każda kartka miała być wypełniona jakąś ilustracją, coś na zasadzie mojego dziennika. Każdy rysunek był owocem mieszanki moich emocji, przemyśleń i wyobraźni. Do rozmów kwalifikacyjnych miałam tylko miesiąc, więc rysowałam dosłownie CODZIENNIE, średnio po 2-3 ilustracje (nad każdą spędzałam 1-3 godziny). Zależało mi tak bardzo, że poświęcałam każdą wolną chwilę na realizację mojego małego projektu, aż niektórzy się o mnie martwili, że w ogóle nie wychodzę z domu (poza pracą oczywiście). Ale udało się :) Zapełniłam cały ponad 70-stronicowy szkicownik. Chociaż gdy teraz patrzę na te rysunki, to widzę miliony niedociągnięć, ale to nie ma żadnego znaczenia, jest w nim tyle moich emocji i pomysłów,

że miło mi do niego wracać. Mam też do niego ogromny sentyment, bo to właśnie w nim obudził się mój oryginalny styl, z którego jestem dziś dumna. Wiem, że nadal muszę nad tym stylem pracować, ale przynajmniej jest MÓJ, a to już połowa sukcesu :)

fot. Patryk Dudzinski

Wstawiam tu trochę zdjęć moich rysunków ze szkicownika:

 

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page